25th Cossack Art Awards judges announced

Director of the Museum of Contemporary Art Elizabeth Ann Macgregor joins Griffith University’s Indigenous Art lecturer Bianca Beetson and 2014 Cossack Art Awards Best Overall category winner Joshua Cocking on the judging panel for the 25th anniversary of the Cossack Art Awards this July.

City of Karratha Mayor Peter Long said the Cossack Art Awards continued to attract a high calibre of participation.

“Over the past 25 years the Cossack Art Awards has been attracting the very best artistic talent from the Pilbara and across Australia and has earned itself a reputation as the country’s most unique regional art prize,” Cr Long said.

“I’m extremely delighted to announce that this year’s entries will be judged by some of the biggest names in Australia’s art world with a high profile panel of accomplished artists and critics including past Cossack Art Awards winner Joshua Cocking.”

The Cossack Art Awards is presented by the City of Karratha with principal partner Rio Tinto.

Rio Tinto general manager Ports Dampier Jess Farrell said she was looking forward to being part of Cossack Art Awards, in particular, supporting the development of arts and culture in the region.

“The calibre of judges presiding over this year’s Cossack Art Awards is a reflection of the growing status and reputation of the event nationally and we are looking forward to welcoming them to the Pilbara,” said Rio Tinto general manager Ports Dampier Jess Farrell.

“As Principal Partner, Rio Tinto is proud to support the long-term development of arts and culture in the region and the opportunities and insights these visiting professionals and celebrated artists can bring with them.”

Ten categories will be awarded at the Awards Night on 22 July, with the Horizon Power People’s Choice awarded at the end of the exhibition.

For more information on the Cossack Art Awards visit www.cossackartawards.com.au. To stay up to date with the latest Cossack Art Awards news visit www.facebook.com/cossackartawards